## **NEWNHAM CROFT PRIMARY SCHOOL GOVERNING BODY 2023-24** (December 2023)

## **CURRENT GOVERNORS**

Full Name	Category of Governor	Appointing Body (in accordance with the Instrument of Government)	Date of Initial appointment	Current Term of Office	Committees Governor serves on	Positions of Responsibility (eg chair or vice-chair of the GB or Committee of the GB) and link lead	Relevant Business/ Pecuniary Interests	Governance roles in any other educational establishments	Relationship between Governors & members of the school staff (including spouses, partners or relatives)
Edward Ferguson	Ex-officio Head teacher	Governing Body	1/9/2022	N/A	PFC, TLC, EPC	Computing; EAL; ASP data analysis; equalities; PP	None	None	Wife is a teacher at school
Keren Sayir-Uziyel	Co-opted	Election	9/2/2022	8/2/2026	TLC, Pay Review Appeals	Maths, SEN	EIU – Business Intelligence, employee	None	None
Jason Palmer	Associate member	Governing Body	8/2/2023	8/2/2024	ECP	Website	CAR/Cambridge Energy	None	None
Hugh Clough	Co-opted	Governing Body	8/2/2023	7/2/2027	PFC HT Performance Review	Diversity & Cultural Capital, History	Contract Accountant at Yellow Door – KS1 & EY resources. Treasurer Newnham Croft Social & Sports Club	None	None
Dani Redhead	Parent	Election	11/12/2019	11/12/2023	EPC HT Performance Review	Chair of Governing Body Leadership/staff survey, RE	University of Cambridge Outreach Officer and DRC Mentor	None	None
Simon Hill	Co-opted	Governing Body	7/10/2020	7/10/2024	PFC (Chair) HT Performance Review Pay Review appeals Mentor (AW)	Chair of PFC, Pupil Premium, DT, CP & Safeguarding	Bamarook, Urriarra, and Pict Ventures	None	None
Lucy Nethsingha	Local Authority Governor	Governing Body	2/12/20	2/12/2024	PFC Co-mentor (MD)	PE, NET Trustee	Cambridgeshire County and City Councillor, Leader	None Husband is fellow at St Johns College	None
Matt Day	Parent	Election	14/5/2021	13/4/2025	TLC Pay Review Committee	Vice Chair Governing Body Music, Parent survey, SATs/ National Curriculum test monitoring	None	None	None
Eleanor Toye Scott	Co-opted	Governing Body	7/7/2021	6/7/2025	TLC (Chair) Pay Review Committee	Chair of TLC English and Literacy, Assessment, Science	None	None	None
Ave Wrigley	Co-opted	Governing Body	9/2/2022	8/2/2026	PFC, Pay Review C'tee	EYFS, Music, Behaviour, Maths & Numeracy	None	None	None
Jason Gellis	Parent	Election	4/3/2022	3/3/2026	EPC (Chair)	Computing, Geography	University of Cambridge Research Scientist	None	Wife is PTA Secretary
Annie Hanekom	Associate member	Governing Body	6/12/2023	5/12/2024		Staff wellbeing and leadership and staff survey	Proteus Leadership Ltd., Director	None	None
Yudan Ren	Parent	Election	24/2/2023	23/4/2027	PFC	EAL, Languages (MFL)	The Mathworks Ltd, Principal Software Engineer	None	None
Nick Whitehead	Co-opted	Governing Body	26/4/2023	25/4/2027	ECP (Vice-Chair)	Eco – sustainability, Health & Safety, Premises	Director Quahoag Estates Ltd	None	None
Katy Holliday	Staff	Staff elected	1/9/2023	N/A	FGB, TLC				
Razia Mangera	Staff	Staff elected	1/9/2023	N/A	FGB, TLC				

Emm	na Smith	Parent	Election	22/9/2023	22/9/2027	EPC	Art & Design, PSHE/RSE		

	PREVIOUS GOVERNORS (SERVED AT ANY POINT OVER THE PAST 12 MONTHS)											
Full Name	Category of Governor	Appointing Body (in accordance with the Instrument of Government)	D-4	Date Stepped Down	Committees Governor Served On	Positions of Responsibility (eg chair or vice-chair of the GB or Committee of the GB)	Relevant Business/Pecuniary Interests	Governance roles in any other educational establishments	Relationship between Governors and members of the school staff (including spouses, partners or relatives)			
David Carmona	Parent	Election	1/10/21	July 2023	EPC PE		None	None	None			
Aleks Jach	Support Staff	Staff Election	7/7/2021	6/7/2023	EPC		AJ Handyman Services	None	None			

POINT OF CONTACT FOR GOVERNING BODY	Helen Bracey, Clerk
-------------------------------------	---------------------

## **Structure of the Governing Body**

The school is a community school and it reconstituted in line with statutory guidelines on 1st April 2015.

There are 16 governors appointed:

- 5 elected parent governors
- 1 LA governor
- 1 head teacher
- 1 elected staff governor (shared 50/50 between the joint Assistant Heads)
- 1 elected support staff governor
- 7 co-opted governors (of which up to 3 could be members of staff).

The term of office of all governors (other than the head teacher) is four years.

The Governing Body has established three committees to which it delegates day to day responsibility for the oversight of various aspects of the running of the school: the Personnel & Finance Committee, the Eco & Premises Committee and the Teaching & Learning Committee. Please find here the Terms of Reference for the committees which detail their remit(s) and also the Standing Orders for the Governing Body. You can also find the governors' Code of Practice here.

## NEWNHAM CROFT PRIMARY SCHOOL GOVERNING BODY ATTENDANCE RECORD AT GOVERNING BODY AND COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2023-24

Full Name	Category	Full Governing Body Meetings							
		4.10.23	6.12.23	14.2.24	24.4.24	3.7.24			
Hugh Clough	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Simon Hill	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Edward Ferguson	Ex-officio HT	✓	✓						
Lucy Nethsingha	LA Governor	✓	А						
Dani Redhead	Parent	✓	✓						
Keren Sayir Uziyel	Co-opted	✓	Α						
Matt Day	Parent	✓	✓						
Eleanor Toye Scott	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Ave Wrigley	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Jason Gellis	Parent	✓	Α						
Nick Whitehead	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Yudan Ren	Parent	✓	✓						
Emma Smith	Parent	✓	✓						
Katy Holliday	Staff	✓							
Razia Mangera	Staff		✓						
Jason Palmer	Associate	✓	✓						

Full Name	Category	Personnel & Finance Committee Meetings						
		18.10.23	17.01.23	6.03.24	17.4.24	12.6.24		
Simon Hill (Chair)	Co-opted	✓						
Eddie Ferguson	HT	✓						
Hugh Clough	Co-opted	✓						
Lucy Nethsingha	Co-opted	✓						
Yudan Ren	Parent	✓						
Ave Wrigley	Co-opted	✓						
Dani Redhead	Parent	✓						

Annie Hanekom

Associate

✓

Full Name	Category	Category Eco & Premises Committee Meetings						
		22.9.23	1.12.24	15.3.24	7.6.24			
Eddie Ferguson	HT	✓	✓					
Jason Palmer	Associate		✓					
Jason Gellis (Chair)	Co-opted	✓	✓					
Nick Whitehead	Co-opted	✓	✓					
Aleks Jach	Staff	✓	✓					

Full Name	Category	Teaching & Learning Committee Meetings							
		15.9.23	17.11.23	26.1.24	22.3.24	21.6.24			
Eddie Ferguson	HT	✓	✓						
Eleanor Toye Scott (Chair)	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Keren Sayir Uziyel	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Matt Day	Co-opted	A	✓						
Annie Hanekom	Co-opted	✓	✓						
Katy Holliday	Staff		✓						
Razia Mangera	Staff	✓	А						

Attendance Key: ✓ = Attended | A = Absent with the consent of the governing body (apologies accepted) | F = Failed to attend or Absent without the consent of the governing body